moseleydeb

I finished something!

I finished something!

Burda 7185 skirt

Patter Type: fitted A line skirt. I made View A

Size: 6-18. I made size 12 and shortened the pattern before I cut the fabric.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes – exactly! I bought the pattern because the fabric in the photo was the fabric I already had.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes. It was my first Burda pattern and I found the instructions better than previous patterns although I did have trouble with their method of zip insertion and ended up using another method. Also not sure why they ask for a 40cm zip when the zip opening is only 20cm.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I loved the way the instructions for lining the skirt created something that looked very smart. Previously I’d been improvising with linings and the results were only just OK. Using their technique for the lining gave much better results.

Fabric Used:Lightweight tweed from Goldhawk Road. Very cheap and very nice quality.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:I used some faux leather left over from a previous project for the trim on the waistband and the yoke trim. This worked well and was easy to sew. Bizarrely, the pattern calls for a hem finish which involves serging the hem, leaving that visible and then attaching organza ribbon. This was a bit edgy for me and I knew it would reduce the amount of wear the skirt would get. So I just serged the raw edge and turned up 1.5cm and hand hemmed it. This worked fine.

Would you sew it again?I think this style of yoke would suit someone taller and you only get the benefit of the design if you are slim enough to tuck in your top. For me it wasn’t the perfect design but having said that, I know it will still be a very useful workwear item.

This was a good introduction to Burda and I am very happy with the skirt. The fabric was better quality than I would find in a RTW skirt and at a fraction of the cost.

This entry was published on May 17, 2013 at 7:29 pm. It’s filed under sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

